Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Angry.

So it's late. I should be in bed. But my head keeps spinning around and around.

We ran into a person tonight who was part of our lives before we were married. His first reaction to seeing us was "oh, look who's still together!" How horrible is that? Then he proceeded to tell Tyler that we've overcome the odds. He also asked about a few others who were married not long after us. Seriously, though? The nerve of some people. I try not to let people get my goat. I try to focus on my life and not what other people think of me, my husband and my choices. But tonight I got annoyed, really annoyed. Some people say things in spite but this man just had a giant lack of tact. I didn't even flinch when Tyler called him a jackass under his breath when he walked away. Wrong or not, right now I don't really care.

I find it horrible that, from the very beginning, someone would sit there and believe that we were meant to fail. What a lack of faith! Yeah, we didn't exactly have the best start and it hasn't always been wonderful but we are still married. It's hard as hell and no one ever said it would be perfect. But we've made it this far, even if it's holding on by the tips of our fingers.

So here's my heartfelt cry to everyone out there who felt like we were doomed from the start:

just put your opinion and your agenda aside, be a decent human being and leave us the hell alone.

Tuesday, September 28, 2010

Ten On Tuesday

1. Alright, I guess I'll do Ten On Tuesday.

2. The kids and I went to the beach yesterday. The weather was perfect and the kids had a blast!


3. Thank God we have air conditioning in our house!

4. Dear John is a very sad movie.

5. Pastor Bruce has been teaching from 1 John the last two weeks. Last week he spoke about the benefits of being saved and what the obstacles might be that are keeping us from having an intimate relationship with God. It really convicted me and made me examine my heart and my life for things that might keep me from Him. Lord knows there are many things I have to work on but I'm thankful that He's been bringing to light some attitudes and behaviors I'm holding onto. Letting go is a painful process and I hate it but I know it'll be good for me.

6. I really love when Hillary is home.

7. I feel like there's a tropical storm a-brewin' 'round these here parts.

8. I sure wish I could hold little Noah. He's a cute little guy and I want him to fall asleep on me.

9. My dad gave me $40 in Starbucks gift cards! He never buys coffee there and for that I am reaping the benefits. Thanks Dad!

10. I couldn't come up with anything for ten so I'm making a chain with the vinyl multi-colored paper clips that are in my desk.

Monday, September 27, 2010

Monday!

Whew, it's a hot, hot Monday! I'm pretty sure it's hotter than any day we had during summer. I'm sitting inside at work with the a/c on and it's lovely.

My mom hurt her back yesterday:( So I'm going to have to get off early and pick up the kids from school. I'm bummed to miss the hours but glad for some extra time with my two favorite kids in the whole world! I'm thinking a beach day would be appropriate.

Friday, September 24, 2010

Great Weather, Fun Weekend!

The weather this weekend has been so great!

On Friday I helped in Kayley's classroom, worked out, grocery shopped and had lunch with my mom. She measured my dress to hem it. It's a real simple hem so she was happy to do it for me.

Yesterday we had a soccer game, lunch for my dad's birthday (it was last month but he didn't want to celebrate the weekend after my grandma passed away) and house cleaning day. It was busy but fun! Kayley's soccer team won 2-0 (not that they keep score) and were seriously on fire! Kayley is really confident now and dribbled the ball all the way down the field a couple times. The whole team is learning how to work together and I just love it. Kids soccer is so great to watch!

Last night my aunt watched the kids and Tyler and I went up to the cross to watch the sunset. The view is amazing up there!

Now it's off to church! Happy Sunday everyone!

Wednesday, September 22, 2010

Glee

Oh my gosh. I'm in love with Glee. It's my favorite show besides Modern Family.

I'm a GLEEK!!!!

Tuesday, September 21, 2010

Ten On Tuesday

1. Yesterday was a really crabby day. It got better towards the end but man, it was a rough day for me.

2. There was a murder in the Pepper Tree apartments last night. My bosses daughter and family live in there. The saddest part is that the person who died was a little girl. My heart hurts for her.

3. There's an older gentleman who parks across the parking lot from our office who looks like a private investigator. He also parks by Wells Fargo across the street sometimes, too. We like to make up stories about who he's trying to find.

4. Krista and Shmillary are coming up for lunch today!

5. Krista, this one is for you:
18 days till Rachel and Steve's wedding and 52 days until Vegas, baby! Um, this reminds me, I need to hem my dress for the wedding and find a dress for the ball!

6. I really need a haircut. I finally gave in and bobby pinned my bangs back. They're more like short layers than bangs right now.

7. Kayley sometimes gets cards from school that say "Kayley got caught being good today." She is so proud when she gets one! She also got the "principal's handshake" last Friday. Every week the teacher picks one person from the class who is always listening and always doing his/her best to be rewarded and she got it! I'm so proud of my big girl!

8. Tyler and I went to BJ's Saturday night for dinner. We had the 2 for 20 deal (pizza, salad and a pizookie) plus a martini for me! Then we went for a walk by the pier and to the hot tub. It was really mellow but really fun.

9. Today is going to be a snoozer at work. I answered one call in the last hour. I'm thankful for my job. Yes, oh yes, I am.

10. We cleaned the garage and can fit both cars inside.

Monday, September 20, 2010

Bleh To Blogging

I don't want to blog. But I will. Only because Kim wants me to. But it's still my blog and I'll be a crab if I want to.

Someone at work sent me an email with some funny sayings. This was my fave.

Some people are like Slinkies ... not really good for anything, but you can't help smiling when you see one tumble down the stairs.

See ya tomorrow for Ten On Tuesday on time this week.


Wednesday, September 15, 2010

Ten On Tuesday A Tad Tardy

1. Oh Wednesday, I wish you were Friday.

2. Tuna sandwiches really disgust me.

3. The last week has been fantastic with Tyler home!

4. A client at work was very offended when I referred to her as Mrs. by mistake. She told me this: "when you call a man Mr. you have no idea if he's married or not. Women should also have that same option. I should not have to be identified by Mrs. Do you understand?" Um yeah, I get it Ms. crazy lady.

5. I had my tasty treat from the bean last night. It wasn't as good as I expected but hey, it was free.

6. Only four days until I see Hillary!

7. Tyler's brother Corey has been sober for one year as of Monday. We are all very proud of him!

8. My neice Zoey is so stinkin' cute. She's fat and adorable with her little hair sticking straight up. Wouldn't it be funny if I put all my hair on the top of my head in a pony? Or even a side pony would be a kick in the pants. Ha.

9. Today is the tax deadline for corporations and trusts so it has been sort of busy around work this week. I will most likely still have plenty of opportunities to play solitaire, don't you worry.

10. Kayley had school pictures and soccer pictures taken last week. She wore a really cute purple dress for school and was just adorable.

Kayley also had a reading practice sheet sent home with her this week. There were 39 words in the paragraph and we had to see how many she could read in a minute. Yeah, she read all 39 in 20 seconds. I'm kind of worried that she'll be bored when it comes to reading and spelling. Should I talk to her teacher about it or wait a couple more weeks to see if she's being challenged more?

Tuesday, September 7, 2010

Ten On Tuesday

1. My husband will be home soon!

2. I dropped Kayley off at the circle drive at school today. I started cheering her on in the car to encourage her and she said "you're not going to do that in public are you? You're embarrassing!" I told her I was going to get out of the car and flail and yell ''go Kayley!" but she didn't think it was funny. Of course I didn't do that but I wanted to. It would have been awesome. Anyway, I'm so proud of her for being brave.

3. I started doing my online food tracker again. I have 450 calories left for the day. It's hard to eat the amount of calories I should.

4. So I guess we're only having three weeks of summer this year. I don't mind, I'm just sitting here sipping some bluberry pomegranite tea to take the chill off my bones.

5. Hillary will be here in less than two weeks!

6. I've had a weird bump on my shoulder for the last five days. It's inside, like on the muscle. I made a doctor appointment for Friday because it's really freaking me out.

7. September 14th is the Coffee Bean's free drink day for fall. I'm excited to try the new Cinnamon French Toast Ice Blended.

8. I had my parents over for dinner last night. I made yummy tacos and Cole pretended to throw up his tomatoes. I'm going to keep giving them to him whether he likes them or not. It aint no restaraunt at my house! My kids ended up playing in their room and me, my mom and my dad watched Charlotte's Web in the living room.

9. My Eating Right meal I had for lunch was really gross.

10. We went to the pool with Katie and her mom not last Friday but the one before. I asked Katie if she loved Mickey and Minnie (she likes to pretend they're her brother and sister) and she said, "well of course I do." She's 3. I don't understand people from the south who call their kids 'sista' and tell them to stop being 'ugly' with their behavior. I guess it's just what they do. Well, I love them both and I'm glad we got to see them.

I hope ya'll have a great week!

Monday, September 6, 2010

The Weekend

Saturday was a very long day but the kids were amazing. We were at the memorial for over four hours and, besides getting a little rambunctious toward the end, both kids were very well behaved. They both saw grandma and asked lots of questions. They said goodbye to her and went on their way. I, on the other hand, lost it multiple times. Lots of memories, lots of happiness and none of it was represented by her cold, lifeless body. But I know she's in heaven now. My mom, my sis and I kicked our legs up high in remembrance of her right before they closed the casket. The one thing I did love about the day was the sense of family. Everyone was there to hug or grab a tissue if needed. I love my fam.

It was nice to spend time with Jo and Tom's of Maine (that's what I call her boyfriend) and Josh and Timo. The only foolishness was that we didn't get a picture of the four Dawson kids. Lame.

I picked up my dress for Rachel's wedding today. It's in five weeks so if I lose a pound a week I can get rid of my awesome back crack I have goin'. Ha. I managed to make it to her shower for a few minutes on Saturday. She was so pretty and looked so happy!

Tyler and I are going to Vegas in November for the Marine Corps Ball. It'll be fabulous!

Friday, September 3, 2010

That'll do pig

The kids are watching Babe and I'm sitting here trying to come up with a grocery list. My brain is spinning so fast I can't focus. Anyway, once I make this list I'm going shopping with the kiddos then hopefully off to the gym to get out this nervous energy.

Grandma's funeral is tomorrow. Joanna and Tommy are driving up tonight after they pick up Josh from LAX. I usually don't see Josh except for at Christmas so it will be nice. I just wish the circumstances were different.

I wish I had something happy to say today. Oh wait, I do! I'm so glad my new friend Noah is here!

Thursday, September 2, 2010

Blasted Moles!

I got my results back from the biopsy the dermatologist took last week. It came back extremely abnormal so I have to have another excision. It's not a huge deal, just another scar on my back.

Sooo, next time you want to tell me about going to the tanning salon...don't! I can't bear to hear how people purposefully put their bodies in those things that just cause cancer. I wish I could prevent the four, almost five, scars on my body. Tanning bed users can prevent dying a horrible death. Just sayin'.