Wednesday, July 28, 2010

Stuff and Things

My kids are totally blessing me lately. Cole asked for chocolate milk this morning and I said no. He said, "ok mom." I was shocked. Then Kayley hugged me goodbye today and said "mom, your hair is so soft!" What a sweetie. I have to admit I am normally so stressed out and not as patient as I should be with them but the last few days has been quite enjoyable. I count myself blessed for that!

The Santa Barbara Bank and Trust across the parking lot from my office was robbed on Tuesday afternoon, about 15 minutes after I made my deposits! My favorite part about the robbery is when the guy took off on his purple BMX bike.

We're going out to lunch for Andrew's birthday today. We're having Thai food and I've never tried it before. It should be interesting. I am also going to make a Whodidily cupcake run. We are going to celebrate Justin, Andrew and my birthdays that are within two weeks of each other (was that sentence grammatically correct?) It's cupcake day and that makes any day better.

Georgia told me today that I've been making decaf coffee for the past week at work. I didn't look even look at the package! No wonder I've been practically falling asleep at work lately!

I'm going to the eye doctor at 3:15. I'm kind of excited. Call me weird but I don't mind the less invasive types of doctors appointments. And Krista, I doubt I will need contacts. Probably just computer glasses.

I'm getting excited about Rachel's wedding. It's getting closer! And I've managed to lose the three pounds that were making the dress a little too tight. Now to maintain...

Happy Thursday everyone!

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

A Milestone!

Ten On Tuesday

1. One day of vacation I took the kids to the shower but forgot a towel. So, I took off my hoodie (the one I wore all day at the lake and around camp) and dried off their clean bodies with my not so clean clothing. It was either that or paper towels.

2. I'm so excited to go out for my birthday on Saturday! I still don't know where we're going to go but it should be fun!

3. Tyler has been given the OK to walk on his leg and will be coming home (with the OK from the doc) probably at the end of September!

4. I have an appointment with the optometrist on Thursday. My eyes have been hurting and not focusing properly, mostly when I'm at work looking at the computer screen or when I drive. If I need glasses, I would like to have these:



5. Kayley told me she was sad and anxious because she was afraid Tyler wouldn't be home for Thanksgiving. Fighting tears, I told her he would be for sure. I'm so proud of her for communicating feelings that are difficult to express.

6. Becca came over Sunday and sat with me at the pool while the kids swam. Then we worked on the invitations for Rachel's shower. They came out really nice. I love 'em!

7. It's been a week and the laundry from vacation is all clean but not yet put away. The laundry fairy has not been doing her job!

8. I spent the weekend pretty sick but NyQuil plus a long nap on Saturday and early bedtimes for me seems to have worked to kick this thing. I was even back to the gym tonight!

9. I got an email from Kayley's soccer coach. She starts practice sometime after August first, probably on Wednesday evenings.

10. I had a dream last night that I was in an airport and I went to the bathroom. After I had gone I was washing my hands and in the mirror I saw a little Mexican girl come out of the closet in the stall I was in. There was a blue laundry basket that she was sitting in and it had the names of countries written on the side but then crossed out with an x. I took her outside of the bathroom and told her (in Spanish) to "sit here and don't move." I went to find someone to help her and she took off. She met up with another little Mexican girl and they disappeared.

It's funny because yesterday I said I never remember my dreams. And last night I did! Weird.

Monday, July 26, 2010

Vacation Continued

The rest of vacation was spent mostly on the lake with one day of hiking. Kayley did try to ski but didn't get up. She'll get it, I know it!

Rancheria Falls







Out on the boat in the morning



This boat is very fast!















The kids did thumbs up to go faster the whole time!





Getting ready (my jacket did not fit)



Ha, look at Jo's face





Feeling a little torn up. Steve tried so hard to dump us but we prevailed!



Skiing like a champ. Up on one ski first try!





Mom and Aunt Carolyn goin' for a ride



Getting ready to do more falling than double skiing



This is the only picture we got of me up. Yes, my butt is sticking out.



Campfire time! We roasted marshmallows a few times and the kids were rather cautious of the fire.



We love Shaver Lake. Next year we'll get out there and do it all again!

Friday, July 23, 2010

Vacation-Jet Ski!

Sunday afternoon my parents rented a jet ski. Or a sea doo, or whatever. I'm always crazy on those things. It's my favorite thing to do at the lake. Joanna and I took a wild ride but I was a bit more safe with the kids:) My parents came to hang at the beach, along with my Great Aunt Carolyn, Great Uncle Karl, cousins Dave and Jonathan and friends Steve and Tammy. Steve took us for a ride across the lake in his boat that day. Those pictures will come later.


















Thursday, July 22, 2010

Vacation-Beach Fun

Vacation was so much fun! I had a stomach bug and a high fever on the way up there and I almost didn't make it. My dad offered to drive down to Visalia with my mom and pick me up but I managed to pull it together and get there. The next day was bad too but my parents helped a lot by taking the kids to the beach and I felt much better by the end of the day.

We spent Saturday on the beach by the marina. We swam and ate and I played fetch with my two small "dogs" Chipotle (Cole) and Baja Fresh (Kayley, Baja for short). Joanna and Tommy made it to the top of a big rock out in the water and I wanted to try too. It took me 20 minutes, no joke. But I did it! I should have taken a picture of the backside of the rock. It was hard to get up there! I sheepishly wore my bathing suit without board shorts this year. It's the first year ever I felt skinny enough. Please excuse my whiteness.












Cole and another little girl spent some time digging a big hole. The water was gross but I let him do it anyway. The little girls' family also let the kids lay on their tube (it was tied to the shore) and float around. Such nice people.







Here are some more pictures from that day. I can't seem to get one without a goofy face from Cole. Kayley is a posing princess.











This was just Saturday. Whew, I have a ton more pictures!!!!

Ok, ok.

Ok, Kim. I only have a few pictures accessible at work so I'll post a couple of them. I will work on a larger post this evening.

Rancheria Falls


Kayley insisted they needed to do this for the picture. Yes, my children were drinking soda. Hey, it was vacation and it was diet.



A glimpse of the fun